Buying some kickass hardware for Multiverse

This week I’m going to order my kick ass system for Multiverse, a STM implementation I’m working on. 2 Intel Xeon E5520 cpu’s (4 cores each + hyperthreading -> 16 virtual processors in total!). 12 Gig DDR3 1066 Mhz ram, a super fast Intel 32 gigabyte SSD and 2x 1.5 terabyte old school disk drives. And it is going to run Linux and perhaps even Solaris (I want to play with D-trace).

As soon as I have this up and running (and moved it somewhere so I don’t have to look at it) I can run some serious performance and scalability tests. At the moment I only have a dual core laptop for this purpose and that is not sufficient.

And if I’m lucky, I can upgrade the cpu’s in the near future to 8 cores each (resulting in 32 virtual processors!).

One Response to Buying some kickass hardware for Multiverse

  1. So why don’t you go with amazons ec2? The extra large instance for $0.8/h comes with 8 virtual cores.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

