Now officially a Xitaan

Last 5 months I haven’t done a lot of software development for my work. I was given the chance to do more consultancy related tasks like performance/stability trouble shooting and audits. I could never have imagined it, but I lost my passion for ‘just’ writing software. I still do write software at home. At the moment I’m working on a tool that is able to detect which objects are accessed by multiple threads. One of the main challenges now is to replace AspectJ by a custom Java agent that gives me more flexibility and doesn’t interfere with other AspectJ configurations. But I’m not satisfied working on projects anymore; I was an unhappy developer and continuing on this road doesn’t provide a bright future.

A few weeks ago I was asked to make the switch officially from the development department (XSD) to the consultancy department (XITA) and I agreed:

  1. XSD (Xebia Software Development) does projects
  2. XITA (Xebia IT Architects): does more consultancy related tasks like audits, trouble shooting, advice etc.
  3. XBR (Xebia Business Requirements): does a lot on the business side of IT like changing the development process or giving business advice.

Within XITA I want to continue specializing in everything related to concurrency and distributed computing. Also I’m thinking about speaking at JFall (a Dutch Java conference) about the Java Memory Model and I’m planning to give an internal? course on this subject as well.

Leave a Reply

